“Dear Doctor” dominates 22nd Nikkan Sports Film Awards

The winners of the 22nd Nikkan Sports Film Awards were announced on Friday. Miwa Nishikawa’s “Dear Doctor” picked up a total of four prizes, including Best Director and Best Picture. She is now the first woman to win Best Director in these awards.

“Dear Doctor” is Nishikawa’s third feature-length film, after “Hebi Ichigo” (2002) and “Yureru” (2006). It features Tsurube Shofukutei (57) in his first starring movie role, playing a remote town’s only doctor, who turns out to be a fake. Shofukutei was chosen as Best Actor for his performance, while Kimiko Yo (53) was named Best Supporting Actress for her role as a nurse.

Takako Matsu (32) earned Best Actress for Kichitaro Negishi’s “Viyon no Tsuma.” Tomokazu Miura (57) received Best Supporting Actor for Setsuro Wakamatsu’s “Shizumanu Taiyo.”

Best Newcomer went to Masaki Okada (20), who starred in five films within the past year, including “Juryoku Pierrot” and “Boku no Hatsukoi wo Kimi ni Sasagu.”

The Yujiro Ishihara Award was given to “Tsurugidake: Ten no Ki,” directed by Daisaku Kimura.

Nikkan Sports

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • Google Bookmarks
  • del.icio.us
  • Yahoo! Buzz
    blog comments powered by Disqus

    Page optimized by WP Minify WordPress Plugin